"f" LogoYou may have read about Facebook™ “Graph Search,” part of Facebook’s efforts to make all of Facebook’s content easier for you to search. It’s getting easier and easier to find a friend, a restaurant, or your favorite sporting team’s Facebook page through Facebook’s search. One thing you might not realize is that all of your Facebook searches are stored in your Timeline.

If that concerns you, you’ll be happy to know that Facebook just restored a feature (missing for a while due to a bug in the system, ahem) that allows you to edit or clear your search history.

Why would you want to do this?

Have you ever left your computer without logging out of your Facebook account? Having every search query you’ve entered into Facebook’s search engine could allow other people to learn a lot about you based off of your search history. Your searches also could be available in a legal process.

What’s the downside?

Like Google, Facebook uses your previous searches to deliver more relevant search results, and Facebook makes note of this when you clear searches via confirmation popup. Also, since you can’t turn off Facebook search history completely, you’ll have to remember to clear searches periodically.

How does it work?

If you decide that you do not want your Facebook searches to be stored because of privacy concerns, or any reason for that matter, here’s how to clear your Facebook searches:

  • Begin by reviewing your Activity Log.
  • Click “More” button (it’s located under the “Comments” tab).
  • More options will appear, and you will need to click the tab that says “Search”
  • Finally, click the button at the top of the page that says “Clear Searches”
  • You will be asked to confirm your decision, and Facebook will prompt you by letting you know that you will see less relevant search results.