Some users of the popular online photo sharing site Pinterest have recently discovered that their accounts have been compromised with strange new pinboards and pictures appearing on their boards.

Since late last week many users have been denied access to the site after scammers hijacked hundreds of accounts and posted pictures with affiliated links in the hope of turning a profit from the scam.

 

Fortunately, Pinterest is aware of the problem and is closing some spam accounts down, whilst also emailing users of any potentially suspicious activity on their account.

“After detecting unusual pinning activity, we logged off anyone who was logged into your account and reset your password. Creating a new password secures your account and protects your pins.

Once you’ve logged in, we recommend deleting the identified pin from your profile.

To learn how to safeguard your account going forward please visit Pinterest support.”

If you are a Pinterest user, use its guidelines below to protect your account from scammers:

  • Use a strong password containing symbols and/or numbers.
  • Use a unique password for Pinterest – do not use the same password on every site.
  • Do not share your password. Pinterest will not ask for your password by email, instant message or phone.
  • Pinterest will only ask you to enter your password when you’re using Pinterest.com or an official app. Pinterest apps are free and are published by Pinterest or “Cold Brew Labs” (the name of our corporation).
  • The address for Pinterest.com should always include “pinterest.com”; support.pinterest.com and m.pinterest.com are valid, but pinterest.somethingelse.com is not valid. If you’re ever unsure of a webpage asking you to login, go to Pinterest.com and click “login” to ensure you’re on the official site.
  • Be cautious when you’re online. Do not complete suspicious requests for personal information, including any offer that appears too good to be true.