In the last of our four blogs about your favourite desert island apps, we turn our sights to Instagram, one of the most popular photo sharing apps in the world with over 100 million users.

It’s therefore no surprise that Instagram was one of the most popular choices when we asked our Facebook fans which app they would take with them if they were stranded on a desert island for a month.

After all, what better way to document your beautiful (if tragic) surroundings and share the whole experience with your friends? What’s more is that photo apps like Instagram have so many ways for you to edit your pictures that you’ll end up with a collection that you can cherish for life!

While Instagram might be a great app for our desert island scenario, there are a few things that users may want to know to ensure their photos are as private as you’d like them to be, even if that means being totally private. What matters is that you are comfortable with your level of sharing.

Check your share settings:

When you share a picture with Instagram, you have the option of adding more data to your post such as Location Data. This will tell people where you were when you took your picture.

While it might not bother you too much about sharing your location with friends and family, it’s worth pointing out that there are a string of new services which tap into public Instagram feeds.

Now is one such app, it pulls latest Instagram feeds from the user’s area and shows them what is happening nearby.

Instamap is a similar app but it creates a worldwide map of Instagram pictures that show the user what people all over the world have been doing.

Instagram itself can use your pictures in its Explore tab which is great for showing off your best pics and getting new followers but not so great if you want to keep your snaps private!

If you are uncomfortable sharing your pictures with a wider audience you can set your profile to private and then approved Instagram users to view your photos.

Remember your photos are set up to be shared publicly by default.

Manage “Photos of You”:

Instagram have recently added an identity feature to their app, meaning that for the first time you can tag friends (if they are Instagram users) to pictures.

This also works retroactively, meaning that Instagram users can go back through their history and tag up their friends.

However, the arrival of identity tagging might dig up some old photos that you might not want to see again, after all when they were taken there was no tag!

If you want to remove your tag from a photo simply:

  1. Tap the photo
  2. Tap your name
  3. Select More Options > remove me from photo

 

For more information on photo tagging, check out Instagram’s “Photos of You”, Help page.

For help keeping your phone secure and your information private, check out AVG AntiVirus for Android.

[nrelate-related]